Dilruba Ahmed http://www.dilrubaahmed.com author, editor, educator Thu, 12 Jan 2012 04:11:41 +0000 en-US hourly 1 http://wordpress.org/?v=3.4.2 Hyphen Magazine reviews Dhaka Dust http://www.dilrubaahmed.com/2011/09/hyphen-magazine-reviews-dhaka-dust/ http://www.dilrubaahmed.com/2011/09/hyphen-magazine-reviews-dhaka-dust/#comments Thu, 15 Sep 2011 03:49:32 +0000 Ruba http://www.dilrubaahmed.com/?p=98 “What’s so promising about Dhaka Dust is precisely that Ahmed never evades our contemporary moment, taking on a globalizing, anxiety-stricken world while always focusing on the contradictory ways that her speakers live through them. Over the course of these poems, Ahmed subtly crafts the emotionally complex terrain that captures the sprawl and dislocation that shape our early 21st century psychology.” –Hyphen Magazine review of Dhaka Dust

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

]]>
http://www.dilrubaahmed.com/2011/09/hyphen-magazine-reviews-dhaka-dust/feed/ 0
New York Times reviews Dhaka Dust http://www.dilrubaahmed.com/2011/09/new-york-times-reviews-dhaka-dust/ http://www.dilrubaahmed.com/2011/09/new-york-times-reviews-dhaka-dust/#comments Mon, 05 Sep 2011 19:01:37 +0000 Ruba http://www.dilrubaahmed.com/?p=95 "Though she’s American, Ms. Ahmed makes it clear that she’s been honed and haunted by her ghost homeland, Bangladesh. But that knowledge offers small solace, only dual exile...." 
--"Poets’ Visions of America From the Inside and Out," The New York Times

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

]]>
http://www.dilrubaahmed.com/2011/09/new-york-times-reviews-dhaka-dust/feed/ 0
Ploughshares Reviews Dhaka Dust… http://www.dilrubaahmed.com/2011/08/ploughshares-reviews-dhaka-dust/ http://www.dilrubaahmed.com/2011/08/ploughshares-reviews-dhaka-dust/#comments Wed, 03 Aug 2011 16:55:30 +0000 Ruba http://www.dilrubaahmed.com/?p=93 …online, here.

 

 

 

 

]]>
http://www.dilrubaahmed.com/2011/08/ploughshares-reviews-dhaka-dust/feed/ 0
Book Review of Dhaka Dust… http://www.dilrubaahmed.com/2011/07/book-review-of-dhaka-dust/ http://www.dilrubaahmed.com/2011/07/book-review-of-dhaka-dust/#comments Thu, 21 Jul 2011 01:35:05 +0000 Ruba http://www.dilrubaahmed.com/?p=92 …in the Sacramento Book Review.

 

 

 

 

]]>
http://www.dilrubaahmed.com/2011/07/book-review-of-dhaka-dust/feed/ 0
Talkadelphia Interview http://www.dilrubaahmed.com/2011/07/talkadelphia-interview/ http://www.dilrubaahmed.com/2011/07/talkadelphia-interview/#comments Fri, 15 Jul 2011 14:28:41 +0000 Ruba http://www.dilrubaahmed.com/?p=91 Gino and Kishwer interview me for Talkadelphia.  Thanks, you two!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

]]>
http://www.dilrubaahmed.com/2011/07/talkadelphia-interview/feed/ 0
Dhaka Dust reviewed on “Shelf Awareness” http://www.dilrubaahmed.com/2011/06/dhaka-dust-reviewed-on-shelf-awareness/ http://www.dilrubaahmed.com/2011/06/dhaka-dust-reviewed-on-shelf-awareness/#comments Wed, 29 Jun 2011 03:51:19 +0000 Ruba http://www.dilrubaahmed.com/?p=84 Shelf Awareness for Readers reviews Dhaka Dust:  ”Ahmed’s work interweaves a grounded Stateside presence with the ghosts of her cultural homeland, all under the influence of a personal, yet holistic, sense of place and language. The image of dust recurs throughout the book, but is not a limiting theme; in her poems, it can remind us of the absolute dirtiness of life, the taste of a finely powdered spice or the particular haziness of memory.”

 

 

 

 

 

]]>
http://www.dilrubaahmed.com/2011/06/dhaka-dust-reviewed-on-shelf-awareness/feed/ 0
Book Launch Party 7/16/11- Save the Date http://www.dilrubaahmed.com/2011/05/book-launch-party-71611-save-the-date/ http://www.dilrubaahmed.com/2011/05/book-launch-party-71611-save-the-date/#comments Mon, 23 May 2011 16:03:38 +0000 Ruba http://www.dilrubaahmed.com/?p=75 Dhaka Dust Book Launch Party!

July 16, 8 PM
The Black Sheep
247 S. 17th Street
(17th & Latimer, between Spruce & Locust)
Philadelphia, PA 19103
215-545-9473
FREE.  Light appetizers.
Cash bar.

Featuring poetry by Dilruba Ahmed, Tua Chaudhuri, and Ross White, & fiction by James McAdams. Hosted by Seth Pollins.

Below:  a sneak preview of an early finished copy of the book (click for a closer look).

Dhaka Dust

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

]]>
http://www.dilrubaahmed.com/2011/05/book-launch-party-71611-save-the-date/feed/ 0
Jean Valentine & “the hidden way of each of us, buried” http://www.dilrubaahmed.com/2011/04/jean-valentine-%e2%80%9cthe-hidden-way-of-each-of-us-buried/ http://www.dilrubaahmed.com/2011/04/jean-valentine-%e2%80%9cthe-hidden-way-of-each-of-us-buried/#comments Tue, 26 Apr 2011 00:16:15 +0000 Ruba http://www.dilrubaahmed.com/?p=73 My post on Jean Valentine’s amazing Door in the Mountain: New and Collected Poems is now online at the National Book Foundation’s blog.

 

 

 

 

 

 

]]>
http://www.dilrubaahmed.com/2011/04/jean-valentine-%e2%80%9cthe-hidden-way-of-each-of-us-buried/feed/ 0
Review of DHAKA DUST on Poetry Foundation blog http://www.dilrubaahmed.com/2011/04/review-of-dhaka-dust-on-poetry-foundation-blog/ http://www.dilrubaahmed.com/2011/04/review-of-dhaka-dust-on-poetry-foundation-blog/#comments Thu, 07 Apr 2011 22:04:17 +0000 Ruba http://www.dilrubaahmed.com/?p=71 Rigoberto Gonzales reviews Dhaka Dust on Harriet, the Poetry Foundation’s blog: “Harriet readers, put Dhaka Dust on your must-have list this season.”

 

 

 

 

]]>
http://www.dilrubaahmed.com/2011/04/review-of-dhaka-dust-on-poetry-foundation-blog/feed/ 0
Indivisible Editors on Blog Talk Radio http://www.dilrubaahmed.com/2011/04/indivisible-editors-on-blog-talk-radio/ http://www.dilrubaahmed.com/2011/04/indivisible-editors-on-blog-talk-radio/#comments Thu, 07 Apr 2011 04:25:18 +0000 Ruba http://www.dilrubaahmed.com/?p=69 Neelanjana Banerjee and Pireeni Sundaralingam discuss their award-winning anthology, Indivisible: An Anthology of Contemporary South Asian American Poetry, co-edited with Summi Kaipa – and read a poem of mine in the process.

 

 

 

 

]]>
http://www.dilrubaahmed.com/2011/04/indivisible-editors-on-blog-talk-radio/feed/ 0